Skip to Main Content

About the Committee

outback Banner

What area does the BMC cover?

The Outback BMC area includes:

  • District Council of Coober Pedy
  • Municipal Council of Roxby Downs
  • Any other area of the State that-
    • (i) is not otherwise within a bushfire management area; and
    • (ii) is not within a fire district, including:
  • The Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara Lands
  • The Maralinga Tjarutja Lands
  • The Pastoral Unincorporated Areas

SACFS Region 4 provides executive support to the Outback BMC.

Committee membership

The following organisations are members of the Outback BMC:

  • Aboriginal Lands Trust
  • Alinytjara Wilurara Landscape Board
  • Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara Council (APY Council)
  • CFS Volunteers Association
  • Conservation Council South Australia
  • Department for Environment and Water (DEW)
  • Department for Infrastructure and Transport (DIT)
  • Department of Defence (Federal)
  • Department of Primary Industries and Regions SA (PIRSA)
  • DPC - Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation (DPC-AAR)
  • Maralinga Tjarutja Council
  • Municipal Council of Roxby Downs
  • Outback Communities Authority (OCA)
  • Pastoral Board
  • Primary Producers South Australia
  • SA Police (SAPOL)
  • South Australia Northern Territory Oil Search (SANTOS)

Meeting minutes and communiques

Endorsed BMC minutes and communiques can be found at the links opposite.

Looking for something specific?